Free to the public – donations are welcome This extremely unique museum is housed in various trolley buses, trailers, delivery trucks and mobile homes. With over 2000 catalogued dolls, the Busville Doll Museum got its' start in 1980 as a gift shop featuring hand-made gifts and antiques. Special displays include: Seasame Street, Barbie, Cabbage Patch, antique dolls, ethnic dolls, doll houses, toys and furniture from the 1930's through present day. Among the dolls are collections of pipes, coffee mugs, Avon bottles and other collectible items. Just seeing the interesting way in which this museum is set up is worth the trip! Open April through October by 24 hour appointment 1-715-854-2148. Located in Crivitz.
Free to the public – donations welcomeBrowse through memorabilia from one of America's most treasured films of all time. Thousands of items, many one-of-a-kind, from all over the world. See items from the original movie. Features items from the 1920's through 2009, autographed items and personal photos, a piece of the original yellow brick road, a page of the original script, costumes, kitchenware, toys, dolls, matinee posters, holiday decorations and much, much more! This fascinating display is two floors packed full and is considered the largest collections in the Midwest. Open by appointment from April through October Closed for the season November-March. 1-715-927-0767 located in Wausakee
Open Wed., Fri. and Sat. 12pm (noon) to 4pm Memorial Day Weekend through Labor Day Weekend. Also open by appointment by calling 715-854-7214.Travel through eras gone by when visiting the Crivitz Area Museum. See an authentic log cabin and exhibits of an old time kitchen, schoolroom, general store, doctor office and communications stations. You can browse through the wide variety of manuscripts, photographs and bits and pieces of local history. Admission is free, however, donations are greatly appreciated.
Open Tues. through Fri. 11am-4pm Memorial Day Weekend through Labor Day Weekend. $3.00 admission. The Marinette County Historical Society operates the Marinette County Museum on Stephenson Island. This museum showcases the county's logging past. Exhibits include artifacts from the Menominee Indians and a miniature logging camp. Another exhibit honors the woman known as Queen Marinette, who ran a trading post along the Menominee River in the 19th century. Isaac Stephenson, lumber baron, senator and philanthropist, is also a feature in the museum. Furniture and memorabilia from Senator Stephenson's home are on display. You can also visit the Evancheck log cabin which is a fully restored reminder of farmsteading in Marinette County a century ago.
The Niagara Area Historical society Museum is housed in the former Hatton House, which is the original Niagara phone company. This museum includes a history of life in a paper mill town.
Open Memorial Day through October 8 from 10am-4pm.The Peshtigo Fire Museum is housed in the first church rebuilt after the great Peshtigo fire of 1871. Exhibits in the museum show how Peshtigo rose from the ashes from one of the most tragic fires in American history where over 800 people perished.See artifacts that survived the fire and learn about the events that lead up to the fiery holocaust. Visit a general store, school room, kitchen, living room, church altar and many other recreations of 19th century life.Be sure to visit the cemetery next door where you can learn of the lives of survivors and their families and see the mass grave were over 350 unidentified fire victims are buried. 715-582-3244 located in Peshtigo, Wi.
Open 7:00am – 3:00pm, seven days a week from the third week in May to the third week in October. The remainder of the year, they are open Monday through Friday. You can request a group tour by calling ahead.The Thunder River Rearing Station was built as a facility to raise trout. Construction of the raceway buildings during the late 1930's and early 1940's provided jobs to local residents during the Great Depression. The earthen ponds were constructed in 1958. Brook, brown and rainbow trout have all been raised at the rearing station, however, it has been found that the cold water from the Thunder River is more suited for raising brown trout.Currently, brown trout and coho salmon are raised at the facility. Brown trout can be seen anytime from May through October and the salmon can be seen anytime from October through April.The rearing station does not hatch eggs. All fish raised at the station are brought in from the Wild Rose State Fish Hatchery. When it is time for stocking, the fish are loaded into tank trucks and stocked into Green Bay and Lake Michigan. 715-757-3541 Located in Crivitz, WI.